9/1/2017


2017 has just started, with the market continuing to focus on Donald Trump’s presidency on 20 January. Investors are trying to look for clues from Trump’s manifesto and post-election public speeches to develop their future investment strategies. Will the US stock market and economy further advance after Trump takes his office?

Dow hits record highs after Trump was elected

The market had worried Trump’s radical speeches, protectionism and irrational diplomatic means would led to market volatility if he was elected as the President; however, the market has promptly digested the news and expected his tax cut and expansionary policies would stimulate the U.S. economic growth, triggering an pronounced uptrend of the U.S. stock market. The Dow Jones Industrial Average approaches 20000 points even with the interest hike by Fed in December last year, reaching historical high.

The rise of protectionism and the U.S. reindustrialization

Although the details of Trump’s future policies is yet to known, Trump reiterated the call for protectionism recently. He warned General Motors that the Company’s manufacturing base should be located within the United States instead of Mexico; otherwise, they would face high tariffs levied. The speech immediately caused GM’s major competitor Ford to cease its plan for setting up manufacturing base in Mexico.

The avocation of globalization and outbound investment of U.S. capital 20 years ago was mainly due to the land and labor costs advantages in emerging markets, helping the U.S. corporates to reduce their production costs. However, the economic takeoff of emerging markets in recent years boosted the land and labor costs. On the other hand, the economies of developed countries have not been consistently thriving due to globalization, with various European countries encountering economic difficulties, stimulating the penetration of socialism and protectionism. In fact, the avocation regarding to the reindustrialization of the United States has emerged since the Obama’s presidency, although no action has been taken yet. However, Trump’s warning to General Motors stimulate the expectation that the U.S. Government will utilize political means to stimulate the economy, attracting corporates to move overseas manufacturing bases back to the United States, thus improving the unemployment rate. We believe the reindustrialization of the United States will become the catalyst of the U.S. economy.

Yet, the avocation of reindustrialization is apparently contradictory with Fed’s interest rate policy. Reindustrialization will improve the employment of the country; yet, interest rate hike may strengthen the US dollar, which will inevitably affect the competitiveness of the country’s exports. We believe the U.S. Government has to stimulate local consumption to offset the slowdown in export in order to maintain a sustainable economic growth.

Relaxation of financial institution monitoring favors banks' profitability

In addition to reindustrialization, Trump promised to implement financial deregulation during his election campaign, bringing hopes to those banks which were fined repeatedly due to poor supervision. In addition, the Fed’s post-meeting statement stating that the U.S. interest rate may increase 2-3 times this year. We expect continued interest rate hike will improve the leading rates of banks, thereby improving their net interest margin and net interest income, supporting the performance of banking and financial related shares.

The U.S. stock market is expected to reach a new high due to economic recovery

We believe that manufacturing and financial industries would become the dual-engines of the US economy if Trump could fulfill his promises. The U.S. market is expected to be politically-driven in the future. With the appreciation of US dollar appealing capital inflow to US dollar assets, the U.S. stock market is expected to reach a new high, with the support from traditional industrial, infrastructure and financial industries.

General Disclosure and Disclaimer:
Frontier Capital Management Limited (“FCM”) is a subsidiary of Frontier Financial Group (“the Group”). It is regulated and licensed by Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, also is an Exchange Participant of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and a Direct Clearing Participant of Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited.
The information contained in this website is for informational purposes, and does not intend to recommend, invite, offer, or confirm of any terms. Based on the sources that are believed to be reliable, FCM attempts to provide accurate, complete, and up-to-date information and analysis. However, FCM cannot represent or guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of such source and information. Before making any decision on your investment, you should weigh the provided information carefully and bear any responsibility and risk incurred. And you should seek for advice of a professional financial advisor.
The Group, its subsidiaries and connected persons may have held some of the equity securities mentioned in this article, but the Group and FCM will place your financial interests ahead of their own.

9/1/2017


2017年刚开始,市场焦点继续落在将于1月20日上任美国总统的特朗普身上。投资者纷纷从特朗普竞选时的政纲以至当选后的言论中,积极寻找未来的投资策略。究竟特朗普上任后,美国股市能否进一步攀升?美国经济会否继续好转?

特朗普当选后 道指创新高

市场一直担忧,言行出位、主张贸易保护主义及不按国际常规处事的特朗普当选后,金融市场会出现剧烈波动。怎料市场很快已消化当选消息,继而憧憬特朗普将透过减税及积极的财政政策来刺激经济增长,带动美国股市节节上升,即使联储局去年12月加息亦无阻美股升势,道琼斯工业平均指数更逼近20000点,创历史新高。

保护主义抬头 美国工业再兴起

虽然目前未能确定特朗普未来将推行的政策细节,不过他近日再度开火,重申其主张的保护主义。特朗普向通用汽车发出警告,指其汽车应在美国生产而非墨西哥,否则会面临高额关税。此言论即时令通用汽车的对手福特汽车取消在墨西哥设厂的计划,改为留在美国本土设厂。

回顾20年前主张全球化及美资走出去,主要由于新兴国家具有廉价土地及劳工成本的优势,可降低美国企业的生产成本。不过现时新兴国家经济起飞,令土地和劳动成本上升,相反发达国家的经济却未有因全球化而长久蓬勃,欧洲多国更陷入经济困境,令各地布满左翼及保护主义的旗帜。而事实上,美国在奥巴马年代已开始提倡「美国再工业化」,但一直只流于口号。不过从特朗普对通用汽车的警告来看,估计美国政府未来将以政策手段重振经济,吸引企业回美设厂,有助改善失业情况,相信制造业复兴能为经济打下一支强心针。

不过,制造业要从新兴国家搬回美国,明显与加息政策互相矛盾。虽然制造业回流可提高就业机会,但加息或令美元汇价上升,大大削减本土的出口竞争力,影响美国出口。因此方达相信,美国政府需要推出适当政策,大力刺激内需消费,推动经济,以抵消出口或会放缓的影响,才可解决有关矛盾。

放宽金融机构 有利银行表现

除制造业的复兴外,特朗普在选举时曾承诺对金融机构「松绑」,为多年来因监控不力而屡被罚款的金融机构带来新希望。此外,联储局上月的会后声明亦指出,美国今年或加息2-3次,方达预计,息口持续向上将有助推动银行贷款利率上升,从而改善银行净息差,增加银行息差收入,有利银行及相关金融股份的表现。

经济好转 美股料再创高峰

因此方达认为,若特朗普上场后能如期兑现竞选承诺,制造业及金融业这两大引擎定能大力推动美国经济。至于美股未来走向,相信将会以政策主导走势,而随着美元升值令资金回归美元资产,美国股市可望再创高峰,当中传统工业、基建及金融股料会有不俗的支持。

权益披露及免责声明:
方达资本管理有限公司 (「方达资本」) 为方达金融集团 (「集团」) 旗下附属公司,为香港证监会持牌人并受其监管,同时为香港交易所「交易所参与者」及香港结算有限公司「直接结算参与者」。
本网页所提供的讯息 (「此等讯息」) 只供阁下参考,不作替代或作为任何方达资本的投资服务及产品的建议、推荐或买卖邀请。纵使方达资本根据被视为可靠的资料来源,尽力提供准确、完整及最新资讯及分析,惟方达资本不能明示或暗示地声明或保证资料来源的准确性、完整性及最新程度。任何基于此等讯息所作之决定,阁下须独自考虑及承担其风险及责任。阁下在投资前,应先咨询专业意见。
集团及其附属公司及关连人士,可能持有与本文所述的部份证券,惟方达资本必会将客户利益置于集团及方达资本之上。