14/11/2016

Trump’s victory of the US president election has shocked the financial market. As the surprise subsides, investors are now looking for clues of investment opportunities in his policy proposals. We expect the banking and insurance sectors to see benefits. On the other hand, as the probability of further Fed rate hikes is also growing, we are also expecting a negative effect on high-yield equities and real-estate sectors.

Winners and Losers

During his election campaign, Trump has repeated pledged that the government should raise $1 trillion to invest in infrastructure for the next 10 years. His economic advisor was also working on a plan to set up an “Infrastructure Bank” for financing large-scale infrastructure projects in the future. We believe his expansionary fiscal policy will be effective in stimulating the US economy. It will accelerate the pace of Fed rate hike, as reflected in all the economic indicators, for example, the US 10-year bond yield has risen sharply from 1.6% to 2.3%, and the US dollar index has now reached 100. The expected rate hike will also push the bank lending interest rates upward and improve Net Interest Margin. As the US economy gains speed, we also expect borrowers’ ability to repay to improve, and the burden of bad debts on banks to be reduced, which is good for the profitability of banks. In addition, as insurance companies invest mainly in bonds for stable incomes, it is expected that rising interest rates will enhance their profits.

On the flip side, Fed rate hike would affect the performance of interest-sensitive stocks, including high-yield equities and real-estate stocks. If investors would like to buy stocks in this sector, they should use the difference between the Fed rate and the yields of high-yield equities as an indicator for valuation. The historical average of this is around 3%. For example, if the Fed rate is expected to rise to 2%, the yields of high-yield equities should be 5% at least.

Pressure on Aviation and Real Estate Stocks

The currency outflow from China is going to worsen after Fed rate hike, and the pressure on the yuan will increase. Over the past few years, many Chinese enterprises has issued foreign currency bonds to expand their business, taking advantage of the strong RMB. Now, as the tide turns, these enterprises may find it more difficult to repay their foreign debts. Those enterprises with high external debts and relying only on RMB incomes, like aviation and real estate companies, are probably hit the hardest.

Trump Protectionism: Much ado about nothing

Market puts is deeply concerned by Trump’s protectionism. After the election, Trump has stated that he would have US leaving the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) within 100 days of his presidency. He also said he would reopen the negotiations on the North American Free Trade Area. Throughout his campaign, he has repeatedly threatened to raise tariffs on goods from China to 45%, a clear writing on the wall that almost all his policies would be unfavorable to the development of international trade.

However, we believe that US is not likely to raise the tariffs on imports from China. It is because the US economy is dominated by the service sector and many of the goods sold are manufactured in China or other countries. In 2015, imports from China was at 466.8 billion US dollars, being 20% of the total, as China is one of the largest trading partners of the United States. At present, the United States does not seem to have enough manufacturing capacity, skilled workers and industrial technology to revive its manufacturing industry. The wages of US workers is also much higher than that of China. The reindustrialization of America would result in higher inflation rate, which would hurt US consumers. In addition, even though the Republicans control both the House and Senate, it is internally divided. If Trump wants to push radical policies in the future, it may be difficult to get them passed by the Congress. Therefore, we expect Trump’s trade protectionism would not have much impacts and investors should take up quality export stocks when the prices are low.

General Disclosure and Disclaimer:
Frontier Capital Management Limited (“FCM”) is a subsidiary of Frontier Financial Group (“the Group”). It is regulated and licensed by Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, also is an Exchange Participant of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and a Direct Clearing Participant of Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited.
The information contained in this website is for informational purposes, and does not intend to recommend, invite, offer, or confirm of any terms. Based on the sources that are believed to be reliable, FCM attempts to provide accurate, complete, and up-to-date information and analysis. However, FCM cannot represent or guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of such source and information. Before making any decision on your investment, you should weigh the provided information carefully and bear any responsibility and risk incurred. And you should seek for advice of a professional financial advisor.
The Group, its subsidiaries and connected persons may have held some of the equity securities mentioned in this article, but the Group and FCM will place your financial interests ahead of their own.

14/11/2016

特朗普出乎意料胜出美国大选,金融市场经过一轮震荡后,暂时回復平静,大家均积极地从他的竞选纲领中,寻找投资机会。方达预计,银行和保险股有上升潜力,但美国加息步伐加快,将不利息口敏感的高息股和地产股。

加息步伐加快 利好银行保险股

特朗普在竞选时提出,未来10年将斥资1万亿美元在基础建设上,而他的经济顾问亦透露,正研究成立基建银行,为大规模的基建计划融资。方达相信,扩张性的财政政策将有效刺激美国经济,并加快加息步伐。目前各项指标已率先反映加息预期,如美国十年期债券孳息率由1.6%急升至2.3%,美汇指数亦升穿100水平,预计息口持续向上,将有助推动银行贷款利率上升,从而改善淨息差表现。而随着美国经济好转,有望提升借贷人还款能力及降低银行不良资产压力,利好银行盈利。另外,由于保险公司主要投资于债券以赚取稳定的现金收入,因此加息有望提升保险公司的投资收益。

相反,美国加息步伐加快,对息口敏感股包括高息股及地产股等将产生负面影响。若投资者希望趁低吸纳高息股,可参考联邦基金利率与高息股的股息收益率之间的差价。例如联邦基金利率与高息股股息收益率的差价,过往平均为3%,假设市场预期联邦基金利率将升至2%,高息股的股息收益率应升至5%才合理。

人币贬值压力大 看淡航空内房股

另外,随着美国加息,各地资金相继流入美国,加剧中国资本外流,从而加大中期人民币贬值压力。不少内地企业数年前因人民币不断升值,相继发外币债券以拓展业务,但现时人民币加速贬值,将削弱这类公司的偿债能力,预料对外债比率较高并依靠内地收入的企业,如航空股、内房股等,将有负面影响。

特朗普保护主义 雷声大雨点小?

另一方面,特朗普提倡的贸易保护主义是市场非常关注的一环。特朗普当选后已重申,将于上任总统100天内,退出跨太平洋合作伙伴协议(TPP),有指他也将重新就北美自由贸易区进行谈判,加上他竞选时亦多次威胁,会将来自中国商品的关税提升至45%,可见几乎所有政策均一面倒不利国际贸易发展。

不过方达认为,美国大幅增加中国商品关税的机会不大,因美国已转型为服务型经济,大部份工业产品均依赖中国进口,在2015年从中国进口的总额达4668亿美元,佔全年进口总额近两成,可见中国是美国最大的贸易伙伴之一。

而且美国目前根本没足够厂房、工人及工业技术发展製造业,加上美国工人成本远高于中国,重新发展製造业只会推高物价,损害美国本土消费者利益。另外,虽然共和党将控制国会参众两院,但党内分裂早已在选举前发生,相信假如特朗普採取过激政策,也未必能顺利通过国会。因此方达预计,特朗普的贸易保护政策只会小修小补,建议投资者趁低吸纳有质素的出口股。

权益披露及免责声明:
方达资本管理有限公司 (「方达资本」) 为方达金融集团 (「集团」) 旗下附属公司,为香港证监会持牌人并受其监管,同时为香港交易所「交易所参与者」及香港结算有限公司「直接结算参与者」。
本网页所提供的讯息 (「此等讯息」) 只供阁下参考,不作替代或作为任何方达资本的投资服务及产品的建议、推荐或买卖邀请。纵使方达资本根据被视为可靠的资料来源,尽力提供准确、完整及最新资讯及分析,惟方达资本不能明示或暗示地声明或保证资料来源的准确性、完整性及最新程度。任何基于此等讯息所作之决定,阁下须独自考虑及承担其风险及责任。阁下在投资前,应先咨询专业意见。
集团及其附属公司及关连人士,可能持有与本文所述的部份证券,惟方达资本必会将客户利益置于集团及方达资本之上。