28/11/2016


The long-awaited Shenzhen-Hong Kong Stock Connect has finally debuted, but the excitement and passion of the market that was last year, when Shanghai-Hong Kong was launched, has long gone. No one was really expecting another rally, the market is as calm as it can be. However, we believe that as the depreciation of RMB deepens, Shenzhen-Hong Kong Stock Connect would have a positive effect on the Hong Kong stock market in the long term.

China’s Growing Capital Outflow

China’s economy is turning weak and the depreciation of RMB is accelerating the capital outflow from the country. After the RMB’s surprise drop against the USD by 1.9% on 11th Aug 2015, the downward trend has continued and has culminated in an 11% decline, to 6.9 RMB per US dollar. Statistics from the State Administration of Foreign Exchange showed that the foreign exchange reserve of China has already peaked in June 2014, and has started on a falling trend since then. It fell from US$3.99 trillion to US$3.12 trillion in November 2016, for more than 20%. Capital owners are seeking better investment opportunities abroad. For the last year, real estates, insurances and financial products in Hong Kong all see large demands from China. The amount of capital arriving at the territory through southbound Hong Kong Stock Connect has reached HK$22 billion per month. The inflow of funds is also apparent from the strong support for the Hong Kong dollar. For the last 6 months, Hong Kong dollars were exchanged at HK$7.75 for one US dollar, a clear sign of a growing influx of money.

We believe US rate hikes will keep speeding up the yuan depreciation. The currency rate would carry on its southward trend and money would keep seeking exits. However, we also believe the central Chinese government will continue cracking down on illicit currency outflow channels. With the permission from the China Securities Regulatory Commission, the Shenzhen-Hong Kong Stock Connect is expected to become a safe haven for onshore capitals.

What to Buy

The Shenzhen-Hong Kong Stock Connect adds 102 Hong Kong stocks to the list of companies that can be traded in mainland exchanges, broadening the choices for mainland investors. We suggest picking stocks with good fundamentals among those as long term investment targets. As the mainland investors are trying to mitigate the risk of RMB depreciation, the Hong Kong stock market is one of their choices. We believe China’s money will continue to come to Hong Kong and will be invested in leading enterprises or blue chips with global exposures. However, based on the experience from the Shanghai-Hong Kong Connect, we are not so optimistic about the broking sector. If we use the daily transaction volumes of the Shanghai-Hong Kong Connect as a reference for forecasting, it is clear that there is not going to be significant profits for the brokerage firms. As these stocks have already accumulated sizeable gains, we do not recommend buying at this moment, but rather we suggest taking profits.

General Disclosure and Disclaimer:
Frontier Capital Management Limited (“FCM”) is a subsidiary of Frontier Financial Group (“the Group”). It is regulated and licensed by Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, also is an Exchange Participant of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and a Direct Clearing Participant of Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited.
The information contained in this website is for informational purposes, and does not intend to recommend, invite, offer, or confirm of any terms. Based on the sources that are believed to be reliable, FCM attempts to provide accurate, complete, and up-to-date information and analysis. However, FCM cannot represent or guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of such source and information. Before making any decision on your investment, you should weigh the provided information carefully and bear any responsibility and risk incurred. And you should seek for advice of a professional financial advisor.
The Group, its subsidiaries and connected persons may have held some of the equity securities mentioned in this article, but the Group and FCM will place your financial interests ahead of their own.

28/11/2016


期待已久的深港通正式出炉,市场没有了当年宣布推出沪港通时的亢奋,也没有人再期待牛市即将来临,市场反应十分平静。不过方达认为,随着人民币贬值速度加快,深港通的开通,长远对港股有正面影响。

人民币贬值 资金或流入深港通

中国经济疲弱,加上人民银行自2015年8月11日将人民币兑美元汇率中间价“暴力贬值”1.9%后,人民币汇价跌跌不休,人民币兑美元中间价至今已累积下跌逾11%,曾跌穿6.9关口,加速内地资金持续外流。国家外管局数据显示,外汇储备于2014年6月见顶后一直下跌,由3.99万亿美元跌至2016年11月的3.12万亿美元,跌幅逾两成。内地资金不断向外寻找更好的投资机会,香港的物业、保险及理财产品等在过去一年均录得资金流入,至于经港股通流入香港的资金每月高达220亿港元。而港元兑美元汇价于过去半年间,也长期维持在7.75的强方兑换保证水平,反映资金流入香港的情况有加快迹象。

方达认为,美国加息将导致人民币持续贬值,资金将继续四处寻找出路,但随着中央不断打击从各渠道走资的行为,相信中证监批准的深港通有望成为内地资金泊岸的地方。

看好本地龙头企业及外向型传统蓝筹

深港通令内地投资者可在原香港股通的股票池上,新增102只香港上市的股份。方达建议,投资者可在新增的香港上市股份中,寻找基本因素良好的公司作长线投资。由于部份内地投资者为了回避人民币下跌风险而选择投资港股,相信资金会流入本地龙头企业,或外向型传统蓝筹股。不过根据沪港通经验,方达并不看好券商股,因从沪港通每天平均数十亿成交量估算,深港通难以对券商盈利带来重大影响,而且券商股已累积一定升幅,方达不建议追入,并建议减持。

权益披露: 方达资本管理有限公司为香港证监会持牌人,请注意,本集团及/或其关联机构及人士可能或持有本文章所述的部份证券的财务权益。
本文所载的资讯及数据乃取自相信为可靠的来源。方达资本管理有限公司不保证本文所载的资讯、数据或分析的准确性、合理程度或完整性。任何资讯服务提供者或第三方概不保证数据的计算结果,而有关计算结果可能并不完整。股票价格可急升也可急跌,投资者或会损失部份或所有投资,投资者于投资时应自行或寻找专业顾问评估风险。