13/2/2017

The People’ Bank of China (“PBOC”) raised interest rate of various lending facilities in open market recently, not only raising interest rate on Medium-Term Lending Facility (“MLF”) by 10 basis points historically before Chinese New Year, but also raising interest rate on Standing Lending Facility (“SLF”) and repo rate on the first trading day after Chinese New Year. In addition, the PBOC skips open market operations for six straight trading days, suspending liquidity injection to the market. All these policies were interpreted by investors a start of interest rate hike cycle and the tipping point of monetary policy. Yet, we believe that all these recent policies implemented by PBOC mainly aim at deleveraging and risk-management, not intending to tighten the monetary policy.

PBOC adjusts market liquidity through various tools in recent years

In fact, reverse repos, SLF and MLF were monetary policy tools frequently used by the PBOC in recent years, with financial institutions receiving liquidity from the PBOC using equities as collaterals. Reverse repo is generally used to ease short-term liquidity tension; SLF targets policy banks and national commercial banks with a duration of 1 to 3 month(s); MLF targets commercial banks and policy banks with a longer duration, usually with the objective of fulfilling the needs of agricultural industry and SME. The PBOC also introduced a new tool called the Temporary Liquidity Facility (“TLF”) to provide temporary funds to large banks in order to ease the liquidity tension before the Chinese New Year. The TLF is a form of reverse repo without collateral.

Policy interest rate hike doesn’t imply the start of interest rate hike cycle

Although the use of different monetary tools by the PBOC to regulate market liquidity has become a new normal, the interest rate hike of those tools recently has caught the market’s attention. Part of the market participants even believe that the PBOC has switched from an expansionary monetary policy to a deflationary one. Yet, we believe the implementation of TLF before Chinese New Year implies that the PBOC will inject liquidity if necessary, and tightening liquidity through the use of SLF or MLF, aiming to ensure the stability of market liquidity. This move reflects that the PBOC is more focused on neutral monetary policy.

In addition, interest rate hike is not possible from the perspective of local debt environment. The total debt to GDP ratio in China has already exceeded 260%. A one percent hike of interest rate could possibly generate interest rate expenses by more than RMB 1 trillion. Corporate debt refinancing will become more difficult. In addition, the risk of corporate default wave or even bankruptcy wave may increase. The consequences will further drag down current slowing economy.

Thus, we believe the hike of policy rates recently by the PBOC doesn’t imply the start of interest rate hike cycle. It is merely aiming at deleveraging, intending to curb market bubble and prevent economic and financial risk. We expect the PBOC will continue to use various monetary tools with flexiblities to manage market liquidity.

General Disclosure and Disclaimer:
Frontier Capital Management Limited (“FCM”) is a subsidiary of Frontier Financial Group (“the Group”). It is regulated and licensed by Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, also is an Exchange Participant of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and a Direct Clearing Participant of Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited.
The information contained in this website is for informational purposes, and does not intend to recommend, invite, offer, or confirm of any terms. Based on the sources that are believed to be reliable, FCM attempts to provide accurate, complete, and up-to-date information and analysis. However, FCM cannot represent or guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of such source and information. Before making any decision on your investment, you should weigh the provided information carefully and bear any responsibility and risk incurred. And you should seek for advice of a professional financial advisor.
The Group, its subsidiaries and connected persons may have held some of the equity securities mentioned in this article, but the Group and FCM will place your financial interests ahead of their own.

13/2/2017

中国人民银行近日接二连三上调不同公开市场政策利率,继农历新年前,历史性将中期借贷便利(MLF)操作的中标利率提升10点子后,于鸡年内地开市首日,再上调常用借贷便利(SLF)利率及逆回购招标利率,加上人行连续六天暂停逆回购操作,停止向市场放水,人行一连串动作被市场解读为“变相加息”及货币政策转向。不过方达认为,人行主要为了去杠杆化及防风险,估计并未有意图收紧货币政策。

人行近年透过不同工具调节流动性

事实上,逆回购、SLF、MLF均是人行近年频繁使用的货币政策工具,基本上都是由金融机构以有价证券作为抵押,向人行进行借贷。逆回购一般是为缓解市场短期流动性紧张;SLF主要对象为政策性银行和全国性商业银行,以1至3个月为主;MLF对象则要符合宏观审慎管理要求的商业银行及政策性银行,一般还需配合政策满足“三农”与小微企业贷款需求,期限较长。而人行于农历年假期前,为了令市场平稳过度假期前后资金紧张的时期,再推出新的工具--临时流动性便利(TLF),向大型银行提供临时资金,是一项不用抵押品的逆回购操作。

政策利率上调 不等同加息

虽然人行运用不同货币政策工具调节流动性已成常态,但今次将多项政策利率同时调升,则引起市场关注,不少声音更确定人行的货币政策已由宽松转为收紧。不过方达认为,从人行于农历年前推出TLF可见,人行仍会适时放松资金,其后又会因应银行体系流动性总量,再利用调升SLF或MLF利率的方式,回收部分流动性,以保持银行体系流动性基本稳定,此举反映人行更着重松紧适度及保持中性的政策意图。

另外,从地方债务环境看,内地并不存在加息的条件。目前全社会债务占GDP比重已超过260%,加息1个百分点将可能增加1万亿以上的利息支出,企业融资愈趋困难,而企业出现债务违约,甚至破产的风险增加,将进一步拖垮增长已逐步放缓的经济。

因此方达相信,人行近日上调多项政策利率,并不等同加息,仅仅是为了引导市场去杠杆,有利于抑制资产泡沫和防范经济金融风险,预计人行未来会继续灵活地运用不同的货币政策工具,调节市场流动性。

权益披露: 方达资本管理有限公司为香港证监会持牌人,请注意,本集团及/或其关联机构及人士可能或持有本文章所述的部份证券的财务权益。
本文所载的资讯及数据乃取自相信为可靠的来源。方达资本管理有限公司不保证本文所载的资讯、数据或分析的准确性、合理程度或完整性。任何资讯服务提供者或第三方概不保证数据的计算结果,而有关计算结果可能并不完整。股票价格可急升也可急跌,投资者或会损失部份或所有投资,投资者于投资时应自行或寻找专业顾问评估风险。