03-07-2019

The increase in the downside risks of the global economy, coupled with the impact of the trade war, placed negative impact on consumer sentiment. Although the retail consumption growth in the Mainland rebounded to 8.6% in May, it was the historical low for the past 19 years, reflecting that consumption is still weak. The decline in consumer sentiment has also indirectly dragged Macau's gaming revenue. The gaming revenue growth rate was decelerating since the beginning of last year and recorded a decline of 8.3% in April this year, but it resumed growth in May and June, up 1.8% and 5.9% respectively. Quarterly, it was down by 0.5% in 2Q2019 year-on-year, remained flat compared to 1Q2019, signaling a sign of no further deterioration. In fact, the sector’s average of enterprise value to 12-month forecast EBITDA ratio (EV/EBITDA) fell below 9 in early June and then rebounded to about 11.4. The current valuation is about 1 standard deviation below its three-year average and has reflected the slowdown in gaming revenue growth, especially in the VIP room business. We expect the sector could outperform in the near-term amid the improved investment climate after the resumption of trade talks between US and China, and the stabilizing gaming revenue growth.

Reference:
Bloomberg, The Gaming Inspection and Coordination Bureau

General Disclosure and Disclaimer
Frontier Capital Management Limited (“FCM”) is a subsidiary of Frontier Financial Group (“the Group”). It is regulated and licensed by Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, also is an Exchange Participant of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and a Direct Clearing Participant of Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited.
The information contained in this website is for informational purposes, and does not intend to recommend, invite, offer, or confirm of any terms. Based on the sources that are believed to be reliable, FCM attempts to provide accurate, complete, and up-to-date information and analysis. However, FCM cannot represent or guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of such source and information. Before making any decision on your investment, you should weigh the provided information carefully and bear any responsibility and risk incurred. And you should seek for advice of a professional financial advisor.
The Group, its subsidiaries and connected persons may have held some of the equity securities mentioned in this article, but the Group and FCM will place your financial interests ahead of their own.

03-07-2019

环球经济下行风险增加,加上贸易战影响,对消费意欲产生负面影响,虽然五月份内地零售消费增长反弹至8.6%,但为过去19年低,反映消费仍然疲弱。消费意欲下降亦间接导致澳门博彩收入受到冲击,增速自去年初至今一直呈下降趋势,今年四月更按年倒退8.3%,但五六月回复增长,按年分别升1.8%及5.9%。第二季就按年倒退0.5%,变动与首季持平,未有进一步恶化迹象。事实上,板块企业价值与12个月预测EBITDA比率(EV/EBITDA)的平均值于六月初跌至低于9,其后反弹至目前约11.4,但仍低于三年平均值接近1个标准差,相信板块估值已反映博彩收入增速下滑,尤其是贵宾厅业务。随着中美重启贸谈,令投资气氛改善,加上博彩收入有所回稳,预料该板块可于短线反弹中跑出。

参考资料:
彭博,博彩监察协调局

权益披露及免责声明
方达资本管理有限公司 (「方达资本」) 为方达金融集团 (「集团」) 旗下附属公司,为香港证监会持牌人并受其监管,同时为香港交易所「交易所参与者」及香港结算有限公司「直接结算参与者」。
本网页所提供的讯息 (「此等讯息」) 只供阁下参考,不作替代或作为任何方达资本的投资服务及产品的建议、推荐或买卖邀请。纵使方达资本根据被视为可靠的资料来源,尽力提供准确、完整及最新资讯及分析,惟方达资本不能明示或暗示地声明或保证资料来源的准确性、完整性及最新程度。任何基于此等讯息所作之决定,阁下须独自考虑及承担其风险及责任。阁下在投资前,应先咨询专业意见。
集团及其附属公司及关连人士,可能持有与本文所述的部份证券,惟方达资本必会将客户利益置于集团及方达资本之上。