02-01-2019

The partial shutdown of the U.S. Government began on Dec 22, due to the failure of passing the appropriations legislation funding federal government operations and agencies. President Trump and the Democratic Party have not reached a consensus regarding the funding for physical wall along the border with Mexico. The former threatened a prolonged government shutdown if the Congress didn’t pass appropriation legislation including the $5 billion funding. Due to the urgency of domestic political event, the Trump administration is not expected to deal with Sino-US trade war issue in the short term. In the wake of trade war, Chinese’s manufacturing activity contracted in December, first time since the last two years. The December official manufacturing Purchasing Managers' Index (“PMI”) contracted to 49.4, reaching a 34-month low; while the Caixin manufacturing PMI, which reflects the operating conditions of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), also fell to 49.7, hitting a 19-month low. Both indices were inferior to market expectations, indicating that the impact of the Sino-US trade war has begun to affect the real economy. In addition, the previous Central Economic Work Conference did not stipulate a clear supportive measures, which further weaken the market atmosphere. Unless there is a breakthrough in the Sino-US trade war or a large-scale supportive measures released by the Central Government, the current weak trend is not expected to reverse shortly.

Reference:
Bloomberg
Caixin
National Bureau of Statistics of China

General Disclosure and Disclaimer
Frontier Capital Management Limited (“FCM”) is a subsidiary of Frontier Financial Group (“the Group”). It is regulated and licensed by Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, also is an Exchange Participant of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and a Direct Clearing Participant of Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited.
The information contained in this website is for informational purposes, and does not intend to recommend, invite, offer, or confirm of any terms. Based on the sources that are believed to be reliable, FCM attempts to provide accurate, complete, and up-to-date information and analysis. However, FCM cannot represent or guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of such source and information. Before making any decision on your investment, you should weigh the provided information carefully and bear any responsibility and risk incurred. And you should seek for advice of a professional financial advisor.
The Group, its subsidiaries and connected persons may have held some of the equity securities mentioned in this article, but the Group and FCM will place your financial interests ahead of their own.

02-01-2019

美国联邦政府缺乏资金而于去年12月22日起局部停摆,总统特朗普和民主党在墨西哥边境兴建围墙拨款一事各不相让,前者表明国会需要通过的临时拨款需要包括50亿美元兴建费用,否则任由政府部门继续停止运作。受美国本土政治事件影响,预期特朗普政府短期内亦无暇处理中美贸易战问题。而受贸易战影响,中国制造业活动在12月份出现两年多以来的首次衰退,12月制造业采购经理人指数(PMI)跌至49.4,创34个月新低;而反映中小企业经营状况的财新制造业采购经理人指数亦于12月跌至49.7,创19个月新低,两个指数均逊于市场预期,显示中美贸易战的影响已开始影响实体经济。加上早前中央经济工作会议欠奉明确的救市措施,中港两地投资气氛转弱,预期需要见到中美贸易谈判有突破性发展,或中央推出大型刺激经济措施,市场才有望逆转当前疲弱走势。

参考资料:
彭博
财新网
中国国家统计局

权益披露及免责声明
方达资本管理有限公司 (「方达资本」) 为方达金融集团 (「集团」) 旗下附属公司,为香港证监会持牌人并受其监管,同时为香港交易所「交易所参与者」及香港结算有限公司「直接结算参与者」。
本网页所提供的讯息 (「此等讯息」) 只供阁下参考,不作替代或作为任何方达资本的投资服务及产品的建议、推荐或买卖邀请。纵使方达资本根据被视为可靠的资料来源,尽力提供准确、完整及最新资讯及分析,惟方达资本不能明示或暗示地声明或保证资料来源的准确性、完整性及最新程度。任何基于此等讯息所作之决定,阁下须独自考虑及承担其风险及责任。阁下在投资前,应先咨询专业意见。
集团及其附属公司及关连人士,可能持有与本文所述的部份证券,惟方达资本必会将客户利益置于集团及方达资本之上。