31-10-2018

The Bureau of National Medical Insurance held a symposium in regard to bulk procurement in Shanghai on September 11, introducing the key points and details of joint procurement and announcing the first batch of selected 33 drugs. The procurement will account for 70% of total annual drug use of all public medical institutions in 11 pilot cities in exchange for the lowest tender price. Pharmaceutical stocks plunged after the announcement, concerning the price cut would affect the future earnings of all market players. However, we believe the joint procurement mainly targets the generic drug market, and has minimal impact to innovative drugs with patents.

The targets of the bulk procurement are generic drugs which passed the efficacy reassessment. It is expected that the tender price will drop by approximately 40% if more than three or more manufacturers bid for the tender. Those manufacturers who bid the tender must have sufficient production capacity for supplying 70% of the market. This implies that even small pharmaceutical companies may not be able to participate in the tender even though they passed the efficacy reassessment. They can only compete with the original drugs for the remaining 30% market share.

The sales of 33 drugs in those pilot cities account for approximately 1.9% of the market, which is expected to have a minor impact on industry earnings in the short term. The policy, if implementing nationally in the future, will hurt the profitability of those leading manufacturers focusing on generic drugs, as these manufacturers must lower its tender pricing in order to maintain its market share; however, those focusing on innovative drugs should have little impact. We recommend investors to accumulate pharmaceutical manufacturers with strong research and development capabilities for long-term investment.

Source:
Bloomberg
Citi research
The Bureau of National Medical Insurance

General Disclosure and Disclaimer:
Frontier Capital Management Limited (“FCM”) is a subsidiary of Frontier Financial Group (“the Group”). It is regulated and licensed by Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, also is an Exchange Participant of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and a Direct Clearing Participant of Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited.
The information contained in this website is for informational purposes, and does not intend to recommend, invite, offer, or confirm of any terms. Based on the sources that are believed to be reliable, FCM attempts to provide accurate, complete, and up-to-date information and analysis. However, FCM cannot represent or guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of such source and information. Before making any decision on your investment, you should weigh the provided information carefully and bear any responsibility and risk incurred. And you should seek for advice of a professional financial advisor.
The Group, its subsidiaries and connected persons may have held some of the equity securities mentioned in this article, but the Group and FCM will place your financial interests ahead of their own.

31-10-2018

国家医疗保障局于9月11日于上海举行了有关带量采购的座谈会,介绍联合采购的重点及细节,并公布了第一批带量采购的33个品种。此次带量采购将以11个试点地区所有公立医疗机构年度用药总量的70%,换取产品的最低价格。消息公布后令医药股急跌,市场担心降价会影响医药股未来盈利,惟我们认为是次联合采购主要针对内地仿制药市场,对仍然拥有专利的创新药影响不大。

今次带量采购的目标是早前通过一致性评价的仿制药,若有3家以上一致性评价均通过的品种,预期采购价降幅将达40%,而参与投标的制药公司必须足够的生产能力,意味即使小型制药公司通过一致性评价亦未必能参与市投标,只可以与原研药竞争其余30%的市场份额。

今次试点地区的33个药品销售金额约占市场1.9%,短期内不会对行业盈利造成重大影响。而此次措施如将来于全国实行,最大影响是专注于仿制药的龙头公司,主要由于这些公司必须降价才能维持其市场占有率,惟措施的专注创新药的公司影响不大,建议投资者吸纳研发能力强的制药公司作长线投资。

参考资料:
彭博
花旗
国家医疗保障局

权益披露及免责声明:
方达资本管理有限公司 (「方达资本」) 为方达金融集团 (「集团」) 旗下附属公司,为香港证监会持牌人并受其监管,同时为香港交易所「交易所参与者」及香港结算有限公司「直接结算参与者」。
本网页所提供的讯息 (「此等讯息」) 只供阁下参考,不作替代或作为任何方达资本的投资服务及产品的建议、推荐或买卖邀请。纵使方达资本根据被视为可靠的资料来源,尽力提供准确、完整及最新资讯及分析,惟方达资本不能明示或暗示地声明或保证资料来源的准确性、完整性及最新程度。任何基于此等讯息所作之决定,阁下须独自考虑及承担其风险及责任。阁下在投资前,应先咨询专业意见。
集团及其附属公司及关连人士,可能持有与本文所述的部份证券,惟方达资本必会将客户利益置于集团及方达资本之上。