23-05-2018

China’s Finance Ministry said that it will cut import tariffs on vehicles to 15 percent, down from 25 percent, starting 1 July 2018. The magnitude of vehicle import tariff cut is lower than previous market expectation at 5-10%, thus less impact on the domestically produced luxury car manufacturers. The sector has dropped significantly since the government raised the idea of import tariffs cut on vehicles, as the market anticipated the measures may greatly damage the competitiveness of the sector. We expect the market will react positively to the news and we see potential rebound opportunities in the sector amid the ease of fear of having a large cut on import tariff on vehicles. Besides, the finance ministry said it will also cut import tariffs on automotive parts to 6%, which is not anticipated by the market, that should benefit those luxury car manufacturers that heavily relied on import auto parts from cost reduction. Brilliance China Automotive (1114) holds 50% of BMW Brilliance, a joint venture with BMW which produces, distributes and sells BMW passenger cars in mainland China. The automotive tire is the only component that supplied domestically to Brilliance China for BMW production, other components are mostly supplied through import. We think the tariff cut on auto parts should benefit Brilliance China from cost reduction and enhance its market competitiveness through lower domestically produced BMW prices. Besides, there will be several domestically produced new models of BMW ready to launch in the coming 2-3 years, including new X3 in 2018 and new generation 3 Series models and new X2 in 2019. The strong BMW product cycle should last at least 2-3 years. With a very attractive valuation of Brilliance China, investors may accumulate Brilliance China’s shares as a long term investment.

General Disclosure and Disclaimer:
Frontier Capital Management Limited (“FCM”) is a subsidiary of Frontier Financial Group (“the Group”). It is regulated and licensed by Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, also is an Exchange Participant of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and a Direct Clearing Participant of Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited.
The information contained in this website is for informational purposes, and does not intend to recommend, invite, offer, or confirm of any terms. Based on the sources that are believed to be reliable, FCM attempts to provide accurate, complete, and up-to-date information and analysis. However, FCM cannot represent or guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of such source and information. Before making any decision on your investment, you should weigh the provided information carefully and bear any responsibility and risk incurred. And you should seek for advice of a professional financial advisor.
The Group, its subsidiaries and connected persons may have held some of the equity securities mentioned in this article, but the Group and FCM will place your financial interests ahead of their own.

23-05-2018

国家财政部宣布由7月1日起降低汽车进口关税,其中进口汽车关税率由最高25%降至15%,关税的下调幅度较早前市场预期低。市场早前预期进口车关税会降至5%-10%的水平,并拖累国产豪华车的板块急跌,因此汽车关税率消息公布后,预期将会刺激早前急跌的国产豪华车板块反弹。财政部亦同时宣布会下调进口汽车零部件关税至6%,而市场早前亦未有预料到汽车零部件关税的下调,消息亦有助降低依赖进口零部件的国产豪华车的成本,对板块利好。华晨中国(1114)旗下的华晨宝马是华晨与宝马在中国的合资公司,共同生产内地宝马汽车。华晨中国除了轮胎是本地生产之外,其他配件几乎都是从外地进口的,汽车零部件关税的下调亦有望减轻华晨中国的成本,国产宝马车亦有进一步降价空间,并增强产品市场竞争力。另外宝马于未来2-3年有多款新车推出,包括2018年新款宝马X3国产、2019年3系换代和X2国产,预期此轮强产品周期将持续2-3年。现时公司估值吸引,建议吸纳作中长线投资。

权益披露及免责声明:
方达资本管理有限公司 (「方达资本」) 为方达金融集团 (「集团」) 旗下附属公司,为香港证监会持牌人并受其监管,同时为香港交易所「交易所参与者」及香港结算有限公司「直接结算参与者」。
本网页所提供的讯息 (「此等讯息」) 只供阁下参考,不作替代或作为任何方达资本的投资服务及产品的建议、推荐或买卖邀请。纵使方达资本根据被视为可靠的资料来源,尽力提供准确、完整及最新资讯及分析,惟方达资本不能明示或暗示地声明或保证资料来源的准确性、完整性及最新程度。任何基于此等讯息所作之决定,阁下须独自考虑及承担其风险及责任。阁下在投资前,应先咨询专业意见。
集团及其附属公司及关连人士,可能持有与本文所述的部份证券,惟方达资本必会将客户利益置于集团及方达资本之上。