16-05-2018

The Chinese government has imposed much stricter quality restrictions on imported cardboard, started at beginning of March this year. Under this new restriction, import cardboard will only be accepted with contamination rates below 0.5%, rather than the 1.5% previously applied, even stricter than the 1% contamination rates introduced by US government. The volume of the imported waste paper dropped 54% yoy in March under the new measure, while the total volume of waste paper imported in Q1 dropped more than 49% yoy. We expect there would be a 30% yoy cut in waste paper import quota this year, which could drive up both waste paper prices and paper product prices. In fact, the prices of the paper product have been solid in FY18Q1, normally a weak season for the paper industry. Cardboard paper and corrugated cardboard are the two categories of products that with the greatest demand within China’s paper industry. The average prices of cardboard paper in Southern China increased by 7.31% yoy to RMB 4,800/ton in Q1, while the average prices of corrugated cardboard rose by 5.07% to about RMB 4,100/ton across China in the same period. With the expectations of lower volume of imported waste paper, widening differences between domestic and foreign waste paper prices and industry leaders are getting more import quota, the new production capacity should have a minor impact to the paper industry. Since the paper mills offer nearly the same prices on their paper products, leading companies with more import quota have relative advantages on cost efficiency since waste paper consists of more than 70% of the product costs. Paper prices are expected to rise in more solid form in July and August amid industry peak season. We recommend investors to accumulate industry leaders on weakness.

General Disclosure and Disclaimer:
Frontier Capital Management Limited (“FCM”) is a subsidiary of Frontier Financial Group (“the Group”). It is regulated and licensed by Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, also is an Exchange Participant of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and a Direct Clearing Participant of Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited.
The information contained in this website is for informational purposes, and does not intend to recommend, invite, offer, or confirm of any terms. Based on the sources that are believed to be reliable, FCM attempts to provide accurate, complete, and up-to-date information and analysis. However, FCM cannot represent or guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of such source and information. Before making any decision on your investment, you should weigh the provided information carefully and bear any responsibility and risk incurred. And you should seek for advice of a professional financial advisor.
The Group, its subsidiaries and connected persons may have held some of the equity securities mentioned in this article, but the Group and FCM will place your financial interests ahead of their own.

16-05-2018

自3月1日起,进口废纸0.5%含杂率新政落地,较之前1.5%标准大幅提高,且高于美国废纸1%的标准。政策严格执行令当月废纸进口数量同比锐减54%,第一季度进口废纸的累计量为491万吨,同比减少49%以上,而今年市场预计获批进口废纸许可证额度将较去年减少3成,进口减少将有助推高废纸价格,有助造纸厂提高纸价。事实上今年一季度纸价整体上呈现震荡趋升走势,并未像传统淡季般出现明显下滑。以纸业消费量占比前二名的箱板纸和瓦楞纸价格为例,华南区箱板纸第一季度均价按年上升7.31%至近4,800元人民币/吨;全国瓦楞纸第一季度均价按年升5.07%至近4,100元人民币/吨。在废纸进口量减少预期,国内外废纸价差拉大以及废纸配额倾向大型纸企下,新投产能对行业影响将越来越小。由于行业中同产品价差很小,而原材料成本在造纸成本体系中占比超过70%,因此有能力使用国外废纸的龙头纸企具有非常强的成本优势。7、8 月开始将迎来行业旺季,预料届时纸价有望进一步提升,建议投资者可候低买入纸业龙头公司中线部署。

权益披露及免责声明:
方达资本管理有限公司 (「方达资本」) 为方达金融集团 (「集团」) 旗下附属公司,为香港证监会持牌人并受其监管,同时为香港交易所「交易所参与者」及香港结算有限公司「直接结算参与者」。
本网页所提供的讯息 (「此等讯息」) 只供阁下参考,不作替代或作为任何方达资本的投资服务及产品的建议、推荐或买卖邀请。纵使方达资本根据被视为可靠的资料来源,尽力提供准确、完整及最新资讯及分析,惟方达资本不能明示或暗示地声明或保证资料来源的准确性、完整性及最新程度。任何基于此等讯息所作之决定,阁下须独自考虑及承担其风险及责任。阁下在投资前,应先咨询专业意见。
集团及其附属公司及关连人士,可能持有与本文所述的部份证券,惟方达资本必会将客户利益置于集团及方达资本之上。