28-02-2018

The Bank of England left its policy unchanged by keeping interest rates at 0.5% and maintain its quantitative easing stimulus at the BoE February meeting. At the same time, the central bank lifted its 2018 UK GDP growth forecast to 1.8% from 1.6% foreseen at the November inflation report. The recovery in global and regional economic activities is positive to UK economic growth and in particular, the increase in UK trade surplus in 2017 has contributed a lot to UK’s growth. The BoE Deputy Governor, David Ramsden, argued that interest rates might have to rise faster than previously thought, while investors see the probability of a BoE rate hike in May to more than 50 percent. In fact, the strengthening UK economy and the prospect of rate hike have already been reflected on the strong sterling. The GBP/HKD has upped 13% since the beginning of 2017, and it is expected companies with business exposure in British could benefit from sterling appreciation. In particular, Power Assets Holdings Limited (0006) is a global investor in energy and utility-related businesses with investments in electricity generation, transmission and distribution, and renewable energy. Over the years, Power Assets has adopted a strategic approach to seek growth in international markets, through investments and M&A in foreign assets. Revenue from its UK business has accounted for more than 40% of the total income of Power Assets, its earnings and dividend yield could further increase amid UK economic recovery and sterling appreciation.

General Disclosure and Disclaimer:
Frontier Capital Management Limited (“FCM”) is a subsidiary of Frontier Financial Group (“the Group”). It is regulated and licensed by Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, also is an Exchange Participant of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and a Direct Clearing Participant of Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited.
The information contained in this website is for informational purposes, and does not intend to recommend, invite, offer, or confirm of any terms. Based on the sources that are believed to be reliable, FCM attempts to provide accurate, complete, and up-to-date information and analysis. However, FCM cannot represent or guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of such source and information. Before making any decision on your investment, you should weigh the provided information carefully and bear any responsibility and risk incurred. And you should seek for advice of a professional financial advisor.
The Group, its subsidiaries and connected persons may have held some of the equity securities mentioned in this article, but the Group and FCM will place your financial interests ahead of their own.

28-02-2018

英伦银行在近期召开的议息会议中,决定将主要利率维持在0.5%水平,购买资产计划亦保持不变,意味货币政策保持稳定。同时预测今年英国经济增长1.8%,较11月份预测的1.6%有所上调。环球其他国家或地区经济活动有所增强,为英国经济提供支持,当中净贸易增长对英国2017年的经济增长居功不少。而英国央行副行长拉姆斯登亦预期英伦银行可能会较预期提早加息,现时市场预期英国央行5月加息的机率上升至超过50%。事实上,经济回暖及加息预期亦反映在英磅的汇价上,英镑对港元由2017年初至今已经升值超过13%,一众拥有英国业务的公司业绩有望回暖。电能实业(0006)是一间国际能源投资公司,以燃煤、天然气、可再生能源,去提供发电、输电及供电服务,近年积极国际化,不断投资海外及收购海外资产。公司有超过40%的收益来自英国,随着英国经济回暖及英镑汇价回升,公司的收益及息率将有望增加。

权益披露及免责声明:
方达资本管理有限公司 (「方达资本」) 为方达金融集团 (「集团」) 旗下附属公司,为香港证监会持牌人并受其监管,同时为香港交易所「交易所参与者」及香港结算有限公司「直接结算参与者」。
本网页所提供的讯息 (「此等讯息」) 只供阁下参考,不作替代或作为任何方达资本的投资服务及产品的建议、推荐或买卖邀请。纵使方达资本根据被视为可靠的资料来源,尽力提供准确、完整及最新资讯及分析,惟方达资本不能明示或暗示地声明或保证资料来源的准确性、完整性及最新程度。任何基于此等讯息所作之决定,阁下须独自考虑及承担其风险及责任。阁下在投资前,应先咨询专业意见。
集团及其附属公司及关连人士,可能持有与本文所述的部份证券,惟方达资本必会将客户利益置于集团及方达资本之上。