24-01-2018

In 2017, the Chinese Government has made a strong push for its "coal to gas" conversion policy in Beijing, Tianjin and Heibei with an aim to improve the smog pollution problem. However, due to the incomplete installation of natural gas equipment, it resulted in a supply shortage in a lot of places across the region. This led to a rapid demand surge for liquefied natural gas (LNG) as an alternative. It is noteworthy that as natural gas supply in China is mainly delivered through pipeline, LNG only accounted for about 10% of the overall gas supply. As such, China’s LNG price soared to over 10,000 yuan in December 2017 within one month from 4,000 yuan in November 2017. More importantly, as we expect the natural gas supply shortage to linger, gas companies will come under rising margin pressure. In light of this, we believe gas supply is set to be the key investment theme for the gas sector in China this year. In 2017, China surpassed South Korea as the world's second largest LNG importer, with its LNG import volume rose 46% year-on-year to 38.13 million tons. Given it is cheaper to use imported gas compared to that of domestic products, we believe those gas companies owning more LNG storage facilities are set to fare better due to lower production cost which in turn helps to improve margin. All in all, as we believe "coal to gas" conversion policy will remain to be the key policy push by the Chinese Government in the next few years, we advise investors to buy into those gas stocks with LNG storage facilities as a long-term holding.

General Disclosure and Disclaimer:
Frontier Capital Management Limited (“FCM”) is a subsidiary of Frontier Financial Group (“the Group”). It is regulated and licensed by Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, also is an Exchange Participant of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and a Direct Clearing Participant of Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited.
The information contained in this website is for informational purposes, and does not intend to recommend, invite, offer, or confirm of any terms. Based on the sources that are believed to be reliable, FCM attempts to provide accurate, complete, and up-to-date information and analysis. However, FCM cannot represent or guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of such source and information. Before making any decision on your investment, you should weigh the provided information carefully and bear any responsibility and risk incurred. And you should seek for advice of a professional financial advisor.
The Group, its subsidiaries and connected persons may have held some of the equity securities mentioned in this article, but the Group and FCM will place your financial interests ahead of their own.

24-01-2018

中央为改善雾霾问题,2017年在京津冀及周边地区强推「煤改气」政策,然而,由于部份地方的天然气设备仍未完善安装,亦导致民众对液化天然气需求急剧上升,由于内地天然气供应主要是管道天然气为主,液化气只占整体燃气供应的10%左右,国内今年12月份的液化天然气价格已从每吨4000元人民币飙涨至1万元人民币以上,而天然气市场供需失衡的情况仍在进一步加剧,将一步损害燃气公司的利润率,因此整个行业的投资主题预计会集中于燃气供应。 2017年全年,内地液化天然气进口量按年跃增46%,达3,813万吨,超越南韩成为全球第二大液化天然气进口国,由于进口液化天然气价格较内地燃气价格便宜,因此于中国沿岸拥有液化天然气储存库的公司将有望降低燃气成本,从而增加利润率。 「煤改气」政策仍是中央未来几年的重点政策之一,建议投资者可投资于拥有天然气储存库的燃气公司作中长线投资。

权益披露及免责声明:
方达资本管理有限公司 (「方达资本」) 为方达金融集团 (「集团」) 旗下附属公司,为香港证监会持牌人并受其监管,同时为香港交易所「交易所参与者」及香港结算有限公司「直接结算参与者」。
本网页所提供的讯息 (「此等讯息」) 只供阁下参考,不作替代或作为任何方达资本的投资服务及产品的建议、推荐或买卖邀请。纵使方达资本根据被视为可靠的资料来源,尽力提供准确、完整及最新资讯及分析,惟方达资本不能明示或暗示地声明或保证资料来源的准确性、完整性及最新程度。任何基于此等讯息所作之决定,阁下须独自考虑及承担其风险及责任。阁下在投资前,应先咨询专业意见。
集团及其附属公司及关连人士,可能持有与本文所述的部份证券,惟方达资本必会将客户利益置于集团及方达资本之上。