25-10-2017

China 10-year bond yield began to rebound since September last year, and has risen to 3.81% recently, reaching three-year high. The rise in Treasury Yield is favorable to life insurance companies in different aspects. Frist of all, as life insurance companies generally allocate more than 80% of their investment in fixed-income, the rise in bond yield is favorable to their investment income. Although bond price will fall given a rise in bond yield, more than 60% of bonds held by HK-listed life insurers are classified as “held-to-maturity investments”, meaning that the change in fair value of bond price will not be recorded in the life insurers’ income statement. Plus the fact that as most of the products sold by life insurers are life insurance with dividends, approximately 70% of the loss due to decreasing bond price will be borne by policy holders; thus, the impact on life insurers’ income statement is limited. Second, the decline in the “750-day Treasury bond yields” has been gradually slowed down due to rising Treasury Yield. It is expected that the 750-day Treasury Yield will begin to rise from 2018, which will lower the reserves needed by life insurers, boosting their profitability. Coupled with the rise in bond yield will also make the assumptions used to calculate the embedded value of insurance companies more realistic. In terms of rising interest rates per se, pure life insurance players will be most benefited because of their long investment period and long duration of the investment portfolio. On the other hand, the business structure of the sector continued to be optimized. Listed insurance companies focus more on personal agency business, which has a higher profit margin than banks agency business, as well as recurring premium payment. The whole sector is expected to record improving profitability in the future, recommend for a long term investment.

General Disclosure and Disclaimer:
Frontier Capital Management Limited (“FCM”) is a subsidiary of Frontier Financial Group (“the Group”). It is regulated and licensed by Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission, also is an Exchange Participant of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited, and a Direct Clearing Participant of Hong Kong Securities Clearing Company Limited.
The information contained in this website is for informational purposes, and does not intend to recommend, invite, offer, or confirm of any terms. Based on the sources that are believed to be reliable, FCM attempts to provide accurate, complete, and up-to-date information and analysis. However, FCM cannot represent or guarantee its accuracy, completeness, or timeliness of such source and information. Before making any decision on your investment, you should weigh the provided information carefully and bear any responsibility and risk incurred. And you should seek for advice of a professional financial advisor.
The Group, its subsidiaries and connected persons may have held some of the equity securities mentioned in this article, but the Group and FCM will place your financial interests ahead of their own.

25-10-2017

中国10年期国债孳息率于去年9 月触底后开始回升,近日已升至3年高位的3.81厘水平。债息上升将多方面利好险企,首先由于寿险公司一般会将80%以上的投资分配于定息债券,因此国债孳息率上升有利寿险公司的投资收益。虽然国债孳息率上升,债券价格会下跌,但由于香港上市的寿险公司所持有的债券,平均逾60%均属于「持有至到期投资」的类别,债价升跌均不会影响公司在会计上的收入,加上大部份寿险公司的人寿产品均为分红险,约70%因债价下跌的损失会由保单持有人承担,对寿险公司影响不大。其次,由于债息上升,用于计算保险合同准备金的「750日国债平均到期收益率」跌势已逐步放缓,料2018年中更会转变趋势,令寿险业务拨备压力减低,有助推升会计盈利。再加上债息上升亦会令市场对寿险的内涵价值的投资收益假设更有信心。就息率上升而言,纯人寿险企直接受惠最大,因为其保单年期较财险公司为长,投资组合的久期亦较长,受惠息率上升最多。另一方面,内地寿险行业业务结构持续优化,上市险企普遍采取「强化个险,发展期交」的转型理念,受惠于个人代理业务的收益率及效率均高于银行代理业务,以及压缩趸交、依靠续期业务拉动总保费规模的方向,整个寿险板块的盈利将会录得结构性改善,建议长线投资于内地寿险板块。

权益披露及免责声明:
方达资本管理有限公司 (「方达资本」) 为方达金融集团 (「集团」) 旗下附属公司,为香港证监会持牌人并受其监管,同时为香港交易所「交易所参与者」及香港结算有限公司「直接结算参与者」。
本网页所提供的讯息 (「此等讯息」) 只供阁下参考,不作替代或作为任何方达资本的投资服务及产品的建议、推荐或买卖邀请。纵使方达资本根据被视为可靠的资料来源,尽力提供准确、完整及最新资讯及分析,惟方达资本不能明示或暗示地声明或保证资料来源的准确性、完整性及最新程度。任何基于此等讯息所作之决定,阁下须独自考虑及承担其风险及责任。阁下在投资前,应先咨询专业意见。
集团及其附属公司及关连人士,可能持有与本文所述的部份证券,惟方达资本必会将客户利益置于集团及方达资本之上。